Skip to main content

Avery Dennison recognizes suppliers from across the globe in inaugural ceremony

image Eight pressure-sensitive industry suppliers were recognized by Avery Dennison Materials Group (NYSE:AVY) during the company’s inaugural supplier recognition ceremony held in Cleveland, Ohio, USA. Winners were selected based on their performance in areas such as sustainability, innovation, service, overall value and quality.

“Our suppliers are a vital part of our value chain and these awards are our way of recognizing their work,” said John Klein, global vice president, procurement. “It’s important we have a strong working relationship so that together we continue delivering cutting-edge innovations and superior value to the pressure-sensitive industry.”

Sweden-based pulp and paper supplier Munksjö was recognized as Supplier of the Year for their exceptional effort across all categories of performance. “This is an acknowledgement that their organization delivered to a very high standard in product and service quality as well as in innovation,” Klein said. “Their strategic perspective on Avery Dennison’s business and their willingness to explore new avenues to deliver competitive advantage is a model for others to follow.”

The awards ceremony was preceded by a one-day symposium where nearly 200 professionals from approximately 110 companies came together to discuss the pressure-sensitive industry and learn about Avery Dennison innovation and business strategy from the company’s leadership. Attending companies represented films, paper and chemical materials suppliers for the label, graphics and tapes businesses and those who provide indirect and freight services.

“The day’s events gave our suppliers a look at our view on close collaboration, how we use our guiding leadership principles in the marketplace and the vital importance of sustainability to our business and to the industry,” said Don Nolan, president, Avery Dennison Materials Group. “We appreciate the time and effort that our strategic suppliers dedicate to understanding the needs of our customers and the industry.”

The list below details the companies recognized during the awards ceremony and their respective award categories.

Holland; Holland, Michigan, USA

Best Transportation Supplier. This award goes to the transportation supplier who has maintained high delivery service and quality standards and has worked collaboratively with Avery Dennison to provide innovative solutions to network and delivery challenges.

MSC Industrial Supply Co.; Melville, New York, USA

Best Indirect Supplier. This award goes to the indirect supplier who provided superior quality and service while continually improving their processes.

Chung Hwa Pulp Corporation; New Taipei City, Taiwan

Best Supplier Sustainability. This award goes to the supplier who demonstrated both leadership and action to align with Avery Dennison’s sustainability policy to use responsibly sourced materials, comply with third party verification processes and show clear commitment to innovation and continuous improvement in this very important area.

Bischof + Klein; Lengerich, Germany

Best Emerging Suppler. This award goes to the supplier who is growing with Avery Dennison globally while successfully meeting quality, service and innovation targets.

BASF; Ludwigshafen, Germany

Best Innovation Supplier. This award goes to the supplier who was a key partner in the successful implementation of new products and ideas in 2013.

Dérivés Résiniques et Terpéniques; Dax, France

Best Supplier Quality Award. This award goes to the supplier who in 2013 best demonstrated the ability to deliver defect-free material that exceeded the expectations of Avery Dennison and its customers.

Boise Inc.; Boise, Idaho, USA

Best Supplier Service Award. This award goes to the supplier who in 2013 constantly met Avery Dennison on-time delivery targets and who found ways to reduce overall supplied lead times.

Munksjö; Stockholm Sweden

Supplier of the Year. This award recognizes the supplier who excelled in all areas of performance: quality, service, sustainability and innovation.